Early Trends Emerge in National Compliance Data

For the past four years, Aged Care Management Australia (ACMA) have been collating and trending compliance outcomes across all residential care services that have been issued notices of non-compliance or sanction.
ACMA’s analysis of compliance data since the introduction of the Aged Care Quality Standards on 01 July show there has been little change in the primary cause of non-compliance and potential sanctions.

The top ten failed requirements to date are;
Standard 1 – Consumer dignity and choice
1a – Each consumer is treated with dignity and respect, with their identity, culture and diversity valued.
Standard 2 – Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers
2e – Care and services are reviewed regularly for effectiveness, and when circumstances change or when incidents impact on the needs, goals or preferences of the consumer.
Standard 3 – Personal care and clinical care
3a – Each consumer gets safe and effective personal care, clinical care, or both personal care and clinical care, that (i) Is best practice; and (ii) tailored to their needs; and (iii) optimises their health and well-being.
3b – Effective management of high-impact or high-prevalence risks associated with the care of each consumer.
3d – Deterioration or change of a consumer’s mental health, cognitive or physical function, capacity or condition is recognised and responded to in a timely manner.
Standard 7 – Human resources
7a – The workforce is planned to enable, and the number and mix of members of the workforce deployed enables, the delivery and management of safe and quality care and services.
7c – The workforce is competent, and members of the workforce have the qualifications and knowledge to effectively perform their roles.
Standard 8 – Organisational governance
8c – Effective organisation wide governance systems relating to the following: (i) information management; (ii) continuous improvement; (iii) financial governance; (iv) workforce governance, including the assignment of clear responsibilities and accountabilities; (v) regulatory compliance; and (vi) feedback and complaints.
8d – Effective risk management systems and practices, including but not limited to the following: (i) managing high-impact or high-prevalence risks associated with the care of consumers; (ii) identifying and responding to abuse and neglect of consumers; and (iii) supporting consumers to live the best life they can.
8e – Where clinical care is provided – a clinical governance framework, including but not limited to the following: (i) antimicrobial stewardship; (ii) minimising the use of restraint; (iii) open disclosure.

We continue to use this data to inform ourselves and our clients of emerging trends across the industry and to establish risk management plans to mitigate the potential for non-compliance.
Our process involves the completion of a detailed Gap Analysis against the Aged Care Quality Standards and providing a detailed report and risk assessment which is presented to boards and management to ensure there is a clear understanding of their exposure and the priorities for improvement.
The Gap Analysis has also been used by providers to inform their self-assessment and plan for continuous improvement.
ACMA has been providing compliance services for over 16 years and have directly assisted over 60 different facilities maintain compliance and or recover from non-compliance in a cost-effective sustainable way. Our team of senior clinicians, educators and aged care advisors’ partner with aged care providers to create sustainable positive change in the workplace.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *